John Kavanaugh

kavanaugh

John Kavanaugh

John Kavanaugh is a person I wanted to meet.  

I loved the music he played on the baritone ukulele and I had purchased some of his music on iTunes.  I’d followed some of his writing on the Web and when I found out he was scheduled to teach at the Portland Ukefest 09 this past summer, I was excited. I would get to meet him.  But he died unexpectedly before then. I was stunned and saddened, as was the ukulele community. He was 49. 

He was working on a CD that was to be available for the ukefest and it looks like that CD is available posthumously.  I will be ordering it.  Perhaps this is the meeting we would have had in Portland.

My deepest sympathy to his family and friends and the ukulele community. He is missed.

This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

