What happens if you don’t play the ukulele for a while?

For several days, I have been in Washington, D.C. for a convention of 6,300 high school students who work on yearbook, newspaper, online sites, and broadcast.  There was no ukulele in site. There was no time to play a ukulele even if I’d found one.

What happened?

The callouses on my fingertips grew soft.  My ear craved the sound of the ukulele. My fingers gripped wooden chairbacks (when I found one) and tested the wood for right hand exercises.

At one point when I wasn’t doing convention sessions, I found I had traveled somewhere near Chinatown. While waiting for the crossing light to change I asked another pedestrian, “Is there a music store nearby?  The kind that sells guitars, banjos and stringed instruments.”

She turned and looked at me and said, “You’re not from around here, are you?”

I smiled. Looked at my softening fingertips.

Some time later, I noticed the turning leaves.  Although it was cold and wet, the leaves were pretty in the Capitol.

This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What happens if you don’t play the ukulele for a while?

  1. Humble Uker says:

    Beautiful. You softy! Funny how we use whatever we can find to keep our rhythm and fingers in shape.

    Jeff

    Like

Leave a Reply

