Bull Doze Blues by Henry Thomas, 1928

The previous post about the Automatic Ukulele Strumming machine playing Bull Doze Blues leads me to ask more questions about ‘Bull Doze Blues’ or ‘Buldoze Blues’.  If you haven’t seen the automatic ukulele strumming machine, check it out either in my previous post or on YouTube.

For starters we learn from PublicDomain2ten that Canned Heat credited “… Henry Thomas for the sample and inspiration of their 1969 international smash-hit, ‘Going Up To The Country.’   The only part of ‘Bull Doze Blues’ that Canned Heat changed were the lyrics.”    This story is repeated in Wikipedia.

But there are some folks who are saying that the credit for Henry Thomas from ‘Canned Heat’s version wasn’t there.

Wikipedia claims that Henry Thomas was also known for his playing of “quills” — what we call the pan flute.  In the video below you can clearly hear the “quills.”

The 1928 Henry Thomas lyrics (from Weeniepedia)  are followed by Canned Heat’s lyrics.  You can decide what you think by comparing the lyrics and the two tunes.  The video (above) is Henry Thomas’s version of the tune and the audio version (below) is Canned Heat’s (from yourchords.com).  If you have your ukulele handy, the chords to play along are easy strums of G C D. You might enjoy the pace.

Bull Doze Blues – Henry Thomas, 1928

I’m going away, babe, and it won’t be long
I’m going away and it won’t be long
I’m going away and it won’t be long

Just as sure as that train leaves out of that Mobile yard
Just as sure as that train leaves out of that Mobile yard
Just as sure as that train leaves out of that Mobile yard

Come shake your hand, tell your papa goodbye
Come shake your hand, tell your papa goodbye
Come shake your hand, tell your papa goodbye

I’m going back to Tennessee
I’m going back to Memphis, Tennessee
I’m going back, Memphis, Tennessee

I’m going where I never get bulldozed
I’m going where I never get the bulldoze
I’m going where I never get bulldozed

If you don’t believe I’m sinking, look what a hole I’m in
If you don’t believe I’m sinking, look what a hole I’m in
If you don’t believe I’m sinking, look what a fool I’ve been.

Oh, my babe, take me back. How in the world, Lord, take me back.

Going Up the Country – Canned Heat, 1965

(G)I’m going up the country, baby, don’t you wanna go
(C)I’m going up the country, baby, don’t you wanna (G) go
(D)I’m going to some place where (C) I’ve never been (G) before

I’m going, I’m going where the water tastes like wine
I’m going where the water tastes like wine
We can jump in the water, stay drunk all the time

I’m gonna leave this city, got to get away
I’m gonna leave this city, got to get away
All this fussing and fighting, man, you know I sure can’t stay

Now, Baby, pack your leaving trunk, you know we got to leave today
Just exactly where we going I can not say

But we might even leave the U.S.A.
‘Cause it’s a brand new game, and I want to play
No use of you running or screaming and crying
‘Cause you got a home as long as I’ve got mine

This entry was posted in Featured Songs, Perspective and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

