Harry Potter: Strolling, not strumming, through Universal’s Wizarding World

Recently I had the adventure of strolling through Orlando Universal’s Wizarding World of Harry Potter.   Not that I expected to see a ukulele anywhere.  I didn’t.  But what struck me was how few musical instruments there really are in the world of Harry Potter.  Yet the musical scores for the movies provide so much of the tone and enjoyment of the movies.

And, I do believe there is magic in music.

Off the top of my head, I remember the harp puts Fluffy to sleep in the second book/movie.  If you play “LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4” on the Wii, you’ll notice  a Lego busker in Diagon Alley strumming a miniature stringed instrument — ukulele? tiny guitar?  a terz?

Googling Musical instruments in Harry Potter brings you to the Harry Potter Wikia.  There is a cool picture of what looks to be like a branch flute, and an outline of when the harp is used. Reference is made to Dominic Maestro’s music shop in Hogsmeade.  While at the Wizarding World in Orlando, I did have the pleasure of viewing the music shop.  I strained my eyes to see through the windows of the shop, but my efforts did not reward me with a ukulele sighting.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Did you know there was a “Wizarding Suite” an unfinished composition by Musidora Barkwith?   It had been banned because of the Exploding Tuba the magical musical instrument that blew the roof off the Town Hall of Ackerley in 1902 when the Wizarding Suite was performed.

It’s worth going to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando if you are a Harry Potter fan.  Several people have mentioned that they may go there over the break and holiday season.  But if you go, don’t expect to see or hear any ukuleles.

This entry was posted in Perspective, Photographs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harry Potter: Strolling, not strumming, through Universal’s Wizarding World

  1. Jeff West says:

    Hello UP:

    I wanted to ask you to take a look at my first handmade instrument.

    HU / HB / Jeff

    Like

Leave a Reply

