Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain: Celebrating

Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain signatures on Ohana sopranino ukulele

Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain signatures on Ohana sopranino ukulele

Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain Concert Tickets and signed program

Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain Concert Tickets and signed program

It’s always a great thing to think back on a music group you have enjoyed and remember when you only thought you would see them on YouTube, but never face-to-face.

About six years ago, I watched every YT of the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain and thoroughly enjoyed it.  Now, I can say that I have seen them twice in performance in my hometown and this year, they are celebrating 30 years together.

On Sunday, the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain was lively and entertaining as usual for two hours.  There’s  more detail about the concert on judyrobinsondesigns and a different set of photos.

Ukulele Wood Pendant

Ukulele Wood Pin similar to the ones given to the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain.

I really enjoy that the groupmembers make themselves accessible afterward for signatures and ukulele talk.  When I asked George about

Richie playing with steel strings, George looked at me quizzically and said, “You could tell that?”  Of course I could. My seat was on the third row in the orchestra pit.  And I enjoyed every bit of watching facial expressions and watching them play those ukuleles!

Since last time they visited Gainesville they had no time to get out and see an alligator (which is a common reptile in our environment), I decided to send back a small token of Florida wood with them.

Using Florida cherry wood, I wood turned small pendants and then wood burned ukuleles on them. Then adding some color, I left the ukulele to let the natural wood shine through.  The effect is unique and stunning.  They can be worn as pendants/necklaces or pins and if you’d like one, you’ll find some available here.

This entry was posted in Perspective, Uke in the News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain: Celebrating

  1. This must have been an amazing experience for you! I would like to one day see the Ukulele Orchestra live myself. Sounds like a really good idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

